2020-21 Catalog

Academic Calendar

Lehigh University defines a semester as 14 weeks and 70 individual days of instruction to be followed by 2 days of a reading-consultation and study period in preparation of 9 consecutive calendar days of final examinations with four periods per day of 3 hour exam blocks. The summer term is 12 weeks with measured sessions. The academic year consists of one summer and two regular terms. Please note the academic calendar is subject to change without notice.

Fall 2020

August 18 Tuesday Graduate Student General Orientation
August 20 Thursday First Year Student Check In
August 23 Sunday Degree Awarding Date
August 24 Monday First Day of Class
August 28 Friday Last day for Web registration
September 4 Friday Last day of registration/last day to drop without "W"
September 11 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail grading
September 21 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
September 23 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
September 29 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
October 1 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
October 1 Thursday Applications for January degree due
October 9 Friday Mid-term grades due
October 12-13 Monday-Tuesday Pacing Break - no classes
October 26 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
October 28 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
November 3 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
November 5 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
November 9-20 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Spring. Specific dates to be determined.
November 10 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from a course with a “W”
November 10 Tuesday Last day for January doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
November 24 Tuesday Last day for in-class hourly exams
November 25-27 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Break
December 4 Friday Last day of classes
December 4 Friday Last day for January master’s degree candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to Registration & Academic Services
December 4 Friday Last day for January doctoral degree candidates to complete all degree requirements
December 5 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
December 7 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
December 8 Tuesday Final exams begin
December 16 Wednesday Final exams end
December 19 Saturday Final Grades Due
 

Spring 2021

January 24 Sunday Degree awarding date
January 25 Monday First day of class
January 31 Sunday Last day Web registration
January 31 Sunday Last day to add courses without instructor’s permission
February 1 Thursday Deadline to file applications for May graduation
February 5 Friday Last day to add/drop without a 'W'
February 12 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail
February 22 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
February 24 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
March 2 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
March 4 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
March 12 Friday Mid-term grades due
March 15-19 Monday - Friday Spring Break
March 22 Monday Classes resume
April 5 Monday Common Hour exam Day 1
April 7 Wednesday Common Hour exam Day 2
April 13 Tuesday Common Hour exam Day 3
April 15 Thursday Common Hour exam Day 4
April 9 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
April 5-16 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Fall and Summer. Specific dates to be determined.
April 16 Friday Last day to drop a class with a "W"
April 30 Friday Last day for in-class hourly exams
May 7 Friday Last day of class
May 7 Friday Last day for May master’s candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to Registration & Academic Services
May 7 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to complete all degree requirements
May 8 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
May 10 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
May 11 Tuesday Final exams begin
May 19 Wednesday Final exams end
May 22 Saturday Grades Due
May 24 Monday University Commencement Day
July 1 Monday Deadline to apply for September degree

© 2020 All Rights Reserved