University Campuses

Lehigh University's three campuses are located in Bethlehem, Pa., and comprise 1,600 acres.

Asa Packer Campus. Lehigh's main academic campus, encompassing approximately 360 acres on the north slope of South Mountain overlooking Bethlehem, is a wooded area where most students attend class and live. This contains the original campus of the university.

Murray H. Goodman Campus. During the 1960s, the university acquired extensive acreage in the Saucon Valley just south of South Mountain. Development of one of the nation's finest collegiate athletic complexes has continued since that time. The 500-acre campus now includes the Murray H. Goodman Stadium and other athletic fields, as well as the 6,000-seat Stabler Athletic and Convocation Center, the Philip Rauch Field House, the Cundey Varsity House, the Lewis Indoor Tennis Facility, and the Ulrich Sports Complex. The campus is named for a major benefactor, Lehigh alumnus Murray H. Goodman, of West Palm Beach, Fla.

Mountaintop Campus. Lehigh bought this campus from Bethlehem Steel Corp. in 1986. It contains 670 acres of woods and a 72-acre research site with 8 buildings, including a landmark tower building visible for miles around. Acquisition of the facilities connected the two older campuses. The Mountaintop Campus houses the College of Education; the departments of Biological Sciences and Chemical Engineering; programs in biochemistry, biotechnology, bioengineering, ATLSS (Advanced Technology for Large Structural Systems) Center, Energy Research Center, the Military Science and Leadership program (Army ROTC), and Ben Franklin TechVentures headquarters and incubator companies. This campus is also home to the Mountaintop Experience, where students work together beyond the traditional classroom setting on innovative projects that can potentially become business ventures.