2017-18 Catalog

Academic Calendar

Lehigh University defines a semester as 14 weeks and 70 individual days of instruction to be followed by 2 days of a reading-consultation and study period in preparation of 9 consecutive calendar days of final examinations with four periods per day of 3 hour exam blocks. The summer term is 12 weeks with measured sessions. The academic year consists of one summer and two regular terms.

Fall 2017

August 24 Thursday First Year Student Check In
August 27 Sunday Degree Awarding Date
August 28 Monday First Day of Class/Registration day
September 3 Sunday Last day for Web registration
September 3 Sunday Last day to add courses without instructor’s signature
September 4 Monday Labor Day - Classes held
September 8 Friday Last day of registration
September 8 Friday Last day to add or drop a course without a “W”
September 15 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail grading
September 21 Thursday Rosh Hashanna
September 26 Tuesday Four o’clock exam Day 1
September 27 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 2
September 28 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 3
September 30 Saturday Yom Kippur
October 1 Sunday Applications for January degree due
October 3 Tuesday Four o’clock exam Day 4
October 4 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 5
October 13 Friday Mid-term grades due
October 16-17 Monday-Tuesday Pacing Break - no classes
November 1 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 1
November 2 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 2
November 7 Tuesday Four o’clock exam Day 3
November 8 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 4
November 9 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 5
November 6-17 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Spring. Specific dates to be determined.
November 14 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from a course with a “W”
November 14 Tuesday Last day for January doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
November 22-24 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Vacation
December 1 Friday Last day for hourly exams
December 8 Friday Last day of classes
December 8 Friday Last day for January master’s degree candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to the Registrar’s Office
December 8 Friday Last day for January doctoral degree candidates to complete all degree requirements
December 9 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
December 11 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
December 12 Tuesday Final exams begin
December 20 Wednesday Final exams end
 

Spring 2018

January 21 Sunday Degree awarding date
January 22 Monday First day of class/Registration day
January 28 Sunday Last day Web registration
January 28 Sunday Last day to add courses without instructor’s permission
February 1 Thursday Last day for filing applications for May graduation
February 2 Friday Last day for registration
February 2 Friday Last day to add or drop a course without a “W”
February 9 Friday Last day to select OR cancel pass/fail
February 21 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 1
February 22 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 2
February 27 Tuesday Four o’clock exam Day 3
February 28 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 4
March 1 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 5
March 9 Friday Mid-term grades due
March 12-16 Monday - Friday Spring Break
March 19 Monday Classes resume
March 30 Friday Good Friday - classes held
March 31 Saturday Passover - classes held on weekdays
April 4 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 1
April 5 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 2
April 9-20 Monday-Friday Reserved registration period for Fall and Summer. Specific dates to be determined.
April 10 Tuesday Four o’clock exam Day 3
April 11 Wednesday Four o’clock exam Day 4
April 12 Thursday Four o’clock exam Day 5
April 13 Friday Honors Convocation
April 13 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
April 13 Friday Last day to drop a class with a "W"
April 27 Friday Last day for hourly exams
May 4 Friday Last day of class
May 4 Friday Last day for May master’s candidates to electronically upload thesis and deliver final paperwork to the Registrar’s Office
May 4 Friday Last day for May doctoral candidates to complete all degree requirements
May 5 Saturday Review-consultation-study period for Tuesday classes
May 7 Monday Review-consultation-study period for Monday classes
May 8 Tuesday Final exams begin
May 16 Wednesday Final exams end
May 21 Monday University Commencement Day
July 1 Sunday Deadline to apply for September degree
July 20 Friday Last day for September doctoral candidates to deliver dissertation drafts to dean
August 3 Friday Last day for September masters candidates to electronically upload and deliver paperwork to the Registrar’s Office
August 3 Friday Last day for September doctoral candidates to complete all degree requirements